Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  To PhD or Not to PhD?

Posted 01-01-2016 12:45

All:

I'm a high school theatre teacher and I'm contemplating going back to graduate school for a PhD. Currently, I hold an MFA in Theatre and want to get feedback from the community. Many in my school district have no clue what an MFA is and go as far as saying "but it's only a masters degree". As you can imagine this comment cuts me to the bone as anyone with an MFA knows it's far more than just a masters degree. So now I am at a crossroads. Should I stay at my current education level and be paid the same as any teacher who completes a traditional 30 hour masters program, compel the district to recongnize that the Master of Fone Arts is a terminal degree and should be placed in the same pay grade as other terminal degrees (not likely to happen), or return to school, taking on more debt, to earn a PhD? 

We are talking a $6,500 difference in pay each year. So it is substantial. What are your thoughts? Also, should I pursue a PhD in Theatre or the EdD? I'm inclined to pursue another degree in theatre. Do any of you with MFAs experience similar issues in your school districts? Is the MFA a common degree for high school teachers or am I in the minority? 

-Riley

------------------------------
    W. Riley Braem, M.F.A.
    Theatre Teacher
    Northwest High School
    Clarksville, TN

• 2.  RE: To PhD or Not to PhD?

Posted 01-02-2016 06:08
    You might want to check out this link from NAST regarding the usefulness of a PH.d in theater.
    http://nast.arts-accredit.org/index.jsp?page=FAQ+16

You might want to weigh the cost of the degree verses the wages you could earn in ? years. It might not be worth it.
    It is frustrating that your district won't give you the extra credits for the MFA. I am lucky that my district allows up to 90 credits. It might take some convincing on your part with a union rep to petition for a change.It always feels like the arts are trying to justify something.