Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  ADVICE FOR Brothers Grimm Spectaculathon - One Act

Posted 11-20-2015 10:15

Hi. I am new to teaching theater (5 days under my belt) and have inherited a class mid-semester that had just begun working on the play Brothers Grimm Spectaculathon (one act).  I want to help the students get a vision of the play--the big picture and the feel of it.  I'm looking for videos, images, set design, costume ideas, etc. of what others have done so that we can look at examples of how other people have done it in the past.  If anyone has anything they can share, I would be very appreciative! Thanks for anything you can offer.

------------------------------
    Lynn Heil

• 2.  RE:ADVICE FOR Brothers Grimm Spectaculathon - One Act

Posted 11-20-2015 16:25
    We did this show last year and had great fun. It can be done with very little set, or in our case, a pretty girl of sized one. We chose large only because I wanted them to see what working with a larger set is like. The costumes were a mish-mash, which works well for this show. Also, Don Zolidis is wonderful. Don't hesitate to contact him. I wish you the best with it!

-------------------------------------------
    Susan Tomlin
    Teacher/Theatre Director
    Madison Southern High School
    Berea KY
    -------------------------------------------

Sent via Higher Logic Mobile

• 3.  RE: ADVICE FOR Brothers Grimm Spectaculathon - One Act

Posted 11-21-2015 17:34

I hope the show is going well for you!

One other resource is to check Youtube. Over the years, a lot of schools have put videos of their productions on there (which sometimes drives playwrights nuts, but not me) - I searched for Spectaculathon, and there were 16,000 videos on Youtube, I'm sure not all of them were that show, but most of them are. (Wow!)

Obviously, don't copy what another school has done, but there are enough choices and different options on there to give you some good ideas!

Don

Don Zolidis
    Cedar Park TX