Open Forum

View Only

Double Casting the Lead Role--thoughts? Suggestions?

• 1.  Double Casting the Lead Role--thoughts? Suggestions?

Posted 11-09-2015 20:46

Hi everyone!

I am thinking of double casting the lead role in our spring musical and would love to hear your thoughts on the pros/ cons/ challenges of doing so, as well as any suggestions you might have for getting through successfully. As we all know, it can be so hard to choose between two students at times, though I can usually do it (after inordinate amounts of agonizing). This time, however, I feel that each of these two students would really grow in this particular role and want to give them both the opportunity to do so. We are given two performance nights, so I was thinking that one student could perform the role one night and, obviously, the other student would perform the next night. Since I have never done this before, though, I am sure there are so many things I am not considering! If you have ever double-cast a role and have advice to share, I am all ears!

Many thanks!
    Tasha

------------------------------
    Tasha Partee
    Upper School Theatre Teacher
    Lawrence Woodmere Academy
    New York NY

• 2.  RE: Double Casting the Lead Role--thoughts? Suggestions?

Posted 11-10-2015 06:28

With only 2 nights of performance, I think this is a bad idea, for the fact that you need to rehearse both performers equally, this could make your entire production suffer, also with only a 2 night run is it fair to the performer, I know at times it is tough but we are training for life as well, and the only place where you may have an understudy is Broadway or Regional theatre or an emergency.

I would cast one of the 2 and cast the other in another role so they can fully dedicate their time to glowing in the roles not splitting time to achieve just the best time can offer.

Jerry Onik
    V.P. Theatrical Supplies and Equipment
    Omaha NE