Open Forum

View Only

postponing or cancelling a show

• 1.  postponing or cancelling a show

Posted 11-03-2015 08:43

I love reading in this forum, but this is my first time posting because I desperately need some advice from veteran teachers and directors. (It’s a very long post- sorry about that!)

I have a production of The Crucible opening in a little over a week (Nov. 12). Right now the production is in pretty bad shape.

We are very behind on all things technical (set, lights, costumes, etc.) but all of that wouldn’t matter as much if we weren’t struggling with the acting part as well. My kids are having major trouble with their lines (and some blocking). We haven’t been able to spend as much time on character work and all the “fun stuff” as I would have wanted because they struggled so long with the blocking and other basics. We have yet to run through the entire show off book and without calling line. I have done everything I can think of to help. I am at a complete loss and we are running out of time.

I have been involved in many, many productions and seen my fair share of theatrical miracles, as I’m sure we all have. It’s part of the magic of theatre. But this brings me to my question…

Have any of you ever had to cancel or postpone a production? How did you come to that decision? What were the consequences?

I have never been involved in a production that has been cancelled or postponed. To me, doing so seems to go against everything I am trying to teach my kids about theatre. But at what point does it become necessary? Is my hesitation because of my own pride (I had to fight my administration for the play and going to them to ask to postpone would be so, so hard)? Or, would postponing be best for my students? Should I hold on to hope for a theatre miracle?