Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  English classes and theatre

Posted 08-17-2015 06:54

I am hoping for some suggestions on teaching English classes and handling all the duties that go with six fully staged productions a year.  I have been teaching high school for 20+ years but it has always been theatre classes and one or two public speaking classes with an occassionally semester long English class thrown in. This year, they have done away with the Speaking classes, and my load has become mostly English (including two courses I have never taught before), a new IB Theatre class and one beginning and one advanced theatre class with 30-40 kids in each. I'm trying not to panic but I'm trying to figure out how to deal with the overwhelming amount of papers and planning(especially for the new classes) and producing the shows, giving all these children the attention they deserve and keep a little bit of a personal life as well. Any tips? I keep telling myself just to breathe deep but that doesn't always do it.

thanks in advance.

------------------------------
    Holly Thompson
    Worthington OH

• 2.  RE: English classes and theatre

Posted 08-17-2015 23:03

How frustrating! I'd be stressed too. I think the only way you can do it is with tons or parent support. I'd maybe have a parent meeting with the theatre parents early on. Explain to them the new situation and just be honest with them and say you won't be able to keep the pace they've grown accustomed to without a lot of help from the parents and delegate everything you can! 

You might also consider doing student directed shows instead of you directing. Most could be done in class to help you out and give you time after school. 

That's a tough situation. 

Summer Rickman
    Hobbs Municipal Schools
    Hobbs NM

• 3.  RE: English classes and theatre

Posted 08-18-2015 10:16

Holly,