Open Forum

View Only

Warmups

• 1.  Warmups

Posted 07-30-2015 11:14

I am inconsistent about using vocal or physical warmups. I often do a quick stretch and energy builder before performances, but seldom for rehearsals and hardly ever for classes.

Two reasons. One, Students don't love them. Two, (slap my own hand) I don't love them, and never have, even when I was a student myself.

I am positive that the second reason informs the first, and my personal taste and habits are at war with my professional conscience and the taking-it-seriously kind of artists I want to train.

I'm looking for two things:  

1. Inspiration/justification, for me and for my students when I answer the "Why can't we just start" questions.
    2. How do you do it? Is there an order you espouse? Any exercises your students really like?

Like all teachers I'm concerned with lesson plans, grading standards, and show selection (and love this board for all the guidance it offers), but this warmup issue is one of my greatest "worries," as an educator, director, and artist.

------------------------------
    Josh Kauffman
    Teacher
    Winfield City Schools
    Winfield AL

• 2.  RE: Warmups

Posted 07-30-2015 22:13

We do warmups for the sole reason of crossing the boundary from socializing into doing work. we do plastiques, roll-ups, stretches, vocalizing. Just enough to bring us all present into a more neutral space and available to become characters other than ourselves... 
    Amy Poux
    Executive Director

Youth Ensemble Theater
    Rosendale NY

• 3.  RE: Warmups

Posted 07-31-2015 11:09

Josh, you're not alone. When I start rehearsal, I am always aware of how little time I have to address what needs to be done - and I've never been convinced of the value of elaborate warm-ups. Rehearsal time is a precious commodity.