Open Forum

View Only

Cinderella

• 1.  Cinderella

Posted 05-14-2015 20:17

Hello all, 

Does anybody know the differences between the two different versions of Cinderella that MTI licenses? They have the original and a more recent "Enchanted" edition.  Does anybody have recommendations between them?

Thanks,

Chris 

------------------------------
    Christopher Sheldon
    Teacher
    Bancroft School
    Worcester MA

• 2.  RE: Cinderella

Posted 05-14-2015 21:10

MTI reps Dinsey's version of Cinderella as a KIDS edition (~30 mins ShowKit edition for elementary students to perform). Their second Cinderella is the Prince Street Players version: TYA (Theater For Young Audiences) meaning adults performing for children.

You're referring to the R&H Cinderella's: one is the original version and the other is 'enchanted.' And no, I have no knowledge of the difference. Just pointing out that it's R&H and not MTI.

Michael McDonough
    New York NY

• 3.  RE: Cinderella

Posted 05-15-2015 05:59

Yep, you're right.  R&H.  Too many balls in the air.

Christopher Sheldon
    Teacher
    Bancroft School
    Worcester MA

• 4.  RE: Cinderella

Posted 05-15-2015 08:28

Cinderella is the edition that was written for television in 1957. It starred Julie Andrews.  It was filmed for TV again in 1965 with Leslie Ann Warren.  Both versions are on DVD and are considered the "original."  In 1997, Whitney Houston produced another television version starring Brandy. This is what R&H calls the "Enchanted Edition."  Some musical numbers were added and some removed.  The script is a bit different in terms of supporting cast. I was obsessed with the 1965 version as a kid and my 23 year old daughter was obsessed with the Brandy version as a kid, so I have seen both versions 100 times:) They are both entertaining. The newest edition which just closed on Broadway has an "updated" script, but I don't think R&H is offering that for production. 

Fran Young
    Verona High School
    Verona NJ