Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Extreme Theatre

Posted 04-30-2015 12:03

I am interested in trying a 24hour Extreme Theatre experience with my students next year. I heard of this idea a few years ago and it sounds fun.  Basically, student teams have 24 hours to write, cast, rehearse and perform a short production.  Has anyone done something like this?  If so, what are my do's and don'ts?  Any insight on pulling off such an event is greatly appreciated!

------------------------------
    Pam Csaky
    Wadsworth High School

Wadsworth OH

• 2.  RE: Extreme Theatre

Posted 05-01-2015 07:26
    I love these events, however, as a middle school teacher I don't think I could do it. I don't have suggestions on 24 hr, but, I am actually doing a camp for middle/high students this summer that I have called project broadway. It is a week long camp, but we are going to start from scratch and write a short musical and stage it by Friday for a performance. ------------------------------ Jennifer Simmons Lexington SC ------------------------------

• 3.  RE: Extreme Theatre

Posted 05-01-2015 09:57

I've done this as a one week activity. The U of WA calls it "Once Upon A Weekend," but we adapted and called it "Once Upon a Week." I think 24 hours would be too stressful for a during the year activity with all the other demands on the average HS student. (But it might be fine for a summer performance.) We did it over 5 days with our sister school.

Write me if you're interested, and I'll send you the info we used.

Barb Lachman
    Drama Director (former)
    Shoreline WA

• 4.  RE: Extreme Theatre

Posted 05-01-2015 12:25

Hey Pam!