Open Forum

View Only

How does your school fund Musicals?

• 1.  How does your school fund Musicals?

Posted 04-27-2015 14:15
    How does your school fund your musical. It's my first year here and I want to get in the habit of doing a musical every other year. But I'm struggling figuring out how to fund the stipend for my choir director and orchestra director. It feels strange to take this money out of ASB funds. Does your district pay for these stipends? Does the building? Do you get the money from somewhere else?

------------------------------
    Bryan Sullivan
    Theatre Director
    Silverdale WA

• 2.  RE: How does your school fund Musicals?

Posted 04-27-2015 14:59

We currently do a musical every other year as well. We don't get any help with the costs. Everything has to come out of the club budget. One way we help defray the costs is through a tax credit program that is offered in our state. People here can donate up to $200 each to an educational institution/program and are given credits on their state taxes.

We also have sponsors for our club and have donation jars at our show. Even then we have to be really careful on budgeting for musicals because of the cost...

Shira Schwartz
    Chandler Unified School District
    Chandler AZ

• 3.  RE:How does your school fund Musicals?

Posted 04-27-2015 15:08
    We are 100% self-funded. Ticket sales from one show fund the next. I keep my whole season in mind when I budget for the year. If I know I have a high cost show in the spring, I try to counter with keeping costs low earlier.

-------------------------------------------
    Heather Brandon
    Bakersfield CA

Sent via Higher Logic Mobile

• 4.  RE: How does your school fund Musicals?

Posted 04-28-2015 06:35