Open Forum

View Only

Undergraduate Tips and Tricks for Theatre Education Majors

• 1.  Undergraduate Tips and Tricks for Theatre Education Majors

Posted 03-25-2015 23:07

Hello everyone, I am currently an undergraduate Secondary Education Major with and emphasis in Theatre at the University of Nevada, Reno. I am also an EdTA Pre-Professional Member. I am constantly looking to learn more new and exciting things before I get my degree and go into into the profession of Theatre Education. So, I want to ask all of you, what is one piece of advice you could give a student before they graduate and become a Theatre Educator?

Thanks!

------------------------------
    Matthew Denney
    Reno, NV

• 2.  RE: Undergraduate Tips and Tricks for Theatre Education Majors

Posted 03-26-2015 06:08
    Try to become a proficient as possible in as many disciplines as you can. You will very likely have to "do it all" especially in the beginning. Learn how to do lights, sound, stagecraft, choreography, etc. Whatever you're not proficient in will be the weakest aspect of your department, unless you're joining an already established Theatre department. Or, like me, you'll be raising money to pay people to do things that are really quite basic and wondering "Why didn't I take this class in college when it was offered?" ------------------------------ Hugh Fletcher Performing Arts Coordinator IS 229 Dr. Roland Patterson Middle School Bronx NY ------------------------------

• 3.  RE: Undergraduate Tips and Tricks for Theatre Education Majors

Posted 03-26-2015 06:32

Be sure to get certified in a second area that is not associated with a lot of paper grading.  I am very fortunate in that I am mostly a full time theatre teacher - many high schools only have part time theatre positions available or it is an after school program.  When I occasionally have to teach in another area, it is very difficult to grade stacks of papers with after school and evening rehearsals and performances.