Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Theater Design class revision

Posted 07-27-2014 11:35
    Hi Everyone, I have been teaching and directing for 19 years now at our public school My background is acting and directing, but I do teach a non-acting course called Theater Design. I am in the process to again revise my Theater Design class--and I am looking for some ideas. My units for the class are: Dramaturgy and set dressing Stage managing Make Up Costumes Types of stages Unit set design Multiple set design The course is overloaded (there is no prerequisite) and it is becoming too difficult to teach it as an art course---painting is not an option in my current room. I need to revise the Dramaturgy and set design units.....especially since they need more structure due to class size and the wide variety of unmotivated students in there. I don't want to sound unenthusiastic about it--- the course has just gone in an unexpected direction. Does anyone have some plans/projects/rubrics/worksheets that they would be willing to share with me on things like Set Design, Script Analysis, Theater Stages, Theater Safety...etc. COMPUTER PROJECTS would be especially great. I would, in return, share my lessons with you if you like. Please feel free to inbox me with ideas, too. I hope to hear some ideas from you out there. Thanks again---hope you all are enjoying the summer! ------------------------------------------- Lorie Baldwin Richboro PA -------------------------------------------

• 2.  RE: Theater Design class revision

Posted 07-28-2014 09:38
    This is a GREAT example of how you can all use the community to help each other. Upload your materials to the community library so others can then download the items that will help them. ------------------------------------------- David LaFleche Director Of Membership Educational Theatre Association Cincinnati OH -------------------------------------------

• 3.  RE: Theater Design class revision

Posted 07-28-2014 10:17