Advocacy

View Only
  • 1.  Education for Theatre Teachers

Posted 03-23-2014 15:31
    This message has been cross posted to the following Discussions: Open Forum and Advocacy .
    -------------------------------------------
    I wanted to get some feedback from other teachers on this: degree expectation for Theatre Educators. In my state (VA) I have seen a great disparity in what is required of theatre educators. I have a degree in Theatre Education and Art Education. From what I've seen in order to be an Art Teacher I MUST have an Art Education Degree but in order to be a Theatre Teacher I simply need to have some kind of teaching degree and an endorsement in theatre. In VA that is variable in that the district you work in can determine the requirements for the endorsement. In most cases that seems to be one or two classes in theatre. Aside from my other ITS Sponsor peers, most of the other theatre teachers I encounter are not trained in a full-fledged theatre program. I feel that this method of recruiting theatre teachers diminishes our importance by requiring us to be certified in something such as English, History- etc. This also plays into previous discussions on the value of other programs; I can teach AP Studio Art (2 different kinds) and AP Art History but there is no AP Theatre of any kind. I can receive National Board Certification in Art but not in Theatre. I feel that this starts at the very essence of what's expected of theatre educators in terms of certification. This is not to say every colleague I have who is initially certified in another subject area and is endorsed in theatre should be dismissed, but I think there is something to be said for the validity of our position.