Open Forum

View Only

Book and Resource RECOMMENDATIONS Please!

• 1.  Book and Resource RECOMMENDATIONS Please!

Posted 12-06-2021 12:50
    Hey y'all! This is my first post on the forum!
    I am currently a graduate student getting my Master's in teaching and my end goal is to be a Theatre Teacher in Secondary Education. In my undergrad I put my focus in Design and Production because that's what I thought I wanted to do long-term, but after deciding that that wasn't where I needed to be, I've got some catching up to do in other departments.

Does anyone have any reading recommendations for an up-and-coming theatre educator? I mostly need resources on performance-related subjects, but I'm open to anything you deem helpful and necessary! I'm already trying to find books on choreography/dance for the stage, Viewpoints, and ones that go more in depth on stage violence & intimacy.

Thanks in advance!

------------------------------
    Carson Davis
    Russellville AR

• 2.  RE: Book and Resource RECOMMENDATIONS Please!

Posted 12-07-2021 07:40
    Michael Shurtleff's Audition, Boal's Games for Actors & Non-Actors, Viola Spolin's Improvisation for Theatre, Robert Cohen's Acting OneActing Onstage and Off by Robert Barton, The Viewpoints Book, The Actor's Thesaurus, something to get you grounded in Stanislavski technique (I use the textbook Acting is Believing). I've found the professional development and lesson planning resources on Drama Teacher Academy (I have a membership) to be very useful as well.

Cassy Maxton-Whitacre
    Theatre Department Coordinator
    Shenandoah Valley Governor's School
    VA

• 3.  RE: Book and Resource RECOMMENDATIONS Please!

Posted 12-07-2021 11:10
    Thanks so much! I'll definitely look into these!

Carson Davis
    Russellville AR

• 4.  RE: Book and Resource RECOMMENDATIONS Please!

Posted 01-05-2022 11:11