Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Rechargeable Batteries for Mics???

Posted 09-20-2015 18:48

I am a Director/HS Theatre Teacher/Auditorium Tech Director for District... We are going through batteries like crazy.. have any of you switched to batteries you can charge?  How have they worked?  Would you recommend a brand/type?  Thanks for the support

------------------------------
    Christine Dougherty
    Theatre Teacher/Director
    Delsea Regional School District
    Franklinville NJ

• 2.  RE: Rechargeable Batteries for Mics???

Posted 09-20-2015 20:09

I just ordered a 16 charger and batteries, I will let you know in a month.

Greg Alldredge
    Head Director
    Cypress TX

• 3.  RE: Rechargeable Batteries for Mics???

Posted 09-21-2015 07:38

Any reasonable NiMH (Nickel Metal Hydride) with around 2000-3000mAH capacity should prove just fine.  Do not use NiCD (Nickel Cadnium) or "rechargeable" alkalines.

The important thing is to purchase a good charging system - avoid the department store unit. Annsman is the pro's choice and we make a nice rackmount unit at a much lower price point, and can customise to your requirements (Bodymics.com)

Feel free to contct me for selection options.

Also depending on how many shows and how long those shows are, consider using less expensive Alkalines from discount sources - I used Dollar Tree ones for years at 4/$1.00

Rod Reilly
    Somerset NJ

• 4.  RE: Rechargeable Batteries for Mics???

Posted 09-21-2015 08:07

Christine,

We also go through batteries (for our wireless headset mics) like crazy. I work with the TD from Williams College for design of set and lights. She has recommending NOT using rechargeable batteries, as she feels they never work as well. I put an extra $200 in my budget for batteries for the year.

Jen 

Jennifer Jordan
    Drama and Dance Director
    Miss Hall's School
    Pittsfield MA

• 5.  RE: Rechargeable Batteries for Mics???

Posted 09-22-2015 07:04