Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Teaching responsibilities

Posted 11-28-2022 10:02
    Hello fellow Theatre Educators,

Looking for some guidance/ perspective when it comes to an appropriate teaching load for those who also produce and direct productions at their schools. I'm only in my 2nd year of full-time teaching in a high school. In addition to producing/ directing/ choreographing/ managing 2 theatre productions per year and serving as fine arts dept chair, I also teach 5 classes (4 preps). Admittedly, I often feel overwhelmed by the workload, but have been chalking it up to being a new teacher. Is this a typical teaching load? Any insight or suggestions on how to juggle so many things would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks from a newbie theatre teacher!

------------------------------
    Kristin Nemecek
    Theatre Teacher/ Director
    St. Anthony High School
    CA

• 2.  RE: Teaching responsibilities

Posted 11-29-2022 09:04
    That is a lot but is not unusual.  Four preps is pretty normal in the Arts.  As for the extracurricular--are you being compensated for each position individually?  We have a separate stipend for Director and Choreographer so I hope you are boing paid for both.   If it were me I'd let go of the choreography and hire someone to do that so you have a few nights off a week.  Our PA Chair is a separate administrative position that has a healthy salary.  That sounds unusual to be a chair and a teacher.

Laura Russo
    Teacher/Director of Theatre Arts
    Chatham High School
    NJ

• 3.  RE: Teaching responsibilities

Posted 11-29-2022 10:30
    Kristin, 
    This is pretty much what I do. We have a 4 by 4 schedule, so I teach 6 courses a year. 3 of these courses are all Beginning Theatre- so that helps. Also, this will get easier. Still exhausting, but easier with experience.

I would recommend a few things: