Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  thespian troupe application form

Posted 11-15-2021 09:57
    Hi!
    By any chance, do any of you mind sharing with me the application form you use for future thespian troupe members? If you have any handout sheets, I would also be glad to look at those. ;) I know there are the official panflets, etc. but I am trying to have EVERYTHING clearly defined in the handout sheet so students know what are expected.
    Thank you!
    Marta

------------------------------
    Marta Carvalho
    Drama Director
    Carlucci American International School of Lisbon, Portugal

• 2.  RE: thespian troupe application form

Posted 11-26-2021 12:11
    Could you be more specific on what you mean?  I post the guidelines on how to become a Thespian and my officers talk about it in monthly drama meetings.  So, mainly, it's how you become a Thespian.  

I can share whatever files I have, but we don't have an "application" form.  I have a master binder that has all of their work and hours completed for Thespian hours/points.

Natalie (Saunders) Dommer
    Pasadena Memorial High School
    Pasadena, Texas

• 3.  RE: thespian troupe application form

Posted 11-27-2021 19:03
    Marta, as I understand it, any student who earns the requisite number of points should be inducted into the troupe.  In the troupes in schools where I taught, that meant that the theatre account paid the membership dues for any student who qualified for induction but was unable to pay.

Once you have your first group of troupe members, then there will be decisions.  EdTA has a sample Constitution for the troupe, which you can use as a basic framework, but that you can change.  For instance, since money was never allowed to be in the hands of students, we did not have a Treasurer.  (I gave a financial report after each show.)  We added two offices, that of Publicist and Historian, detailing their responsibilities in our constitution.